The Executive Board aims to increase the oversight of UN-Habitat operations by Member States and to strengthen UN-Habitat’s accountability, transparency and effectiveness. This body will ensure greater efficiency in decision-making, help to build trust and attract sufficient, sustainable and predictable funding. It comprises 36 member states elected by the UN-Habitat Assembly and convenes three times a year to undertake the following:


i) Oversee the implementation of the normative and operational activities of UN-Habitat;

ii) Ensure accountability, transparency, efficiency and effectiveness;

iii) Approve and oversee the implementation of the annual programme of work and budget and of the resource mobilization strategy, in accordance with the strategic plans and the political guidelines provided by the UN-Habitat Assembly;

iv) Adopt decisions, under its mandate, on, among other things, programmatic, operational and budgetary issues for the adequate and effective implementation of the resolutions and other decisions adopted by the UN-Habitat Assembly;

v) Guide and support efforts to finance UN-Habitat;

vi) Oversee the compliance of UN-Habitat with evaluations and support auditing functions;

vii) Collaborate with the executive boards of other United Nations agencies, in accordance with the Secretary-General’s management reforms.


Geographical distribution of seats in the Executive Board

The seat distribution on the Executive Board would be as follows: 10 seats for African States; 8 seats for Asia-Pacific States; 4 seats for Eastern European States; 6 seats for Latin American and Caribbean States; and 8 seats for Western European and other States.


To view the full composition of the Executive Board, please click here


First meeting of the Executive Board held on Thursday 30 May 2019 at 3:00 pm.

Composition of the Executive Board of UN-Habitat (36 seats)

A. Africa (10 seats)

1. Cameroon
2. Democratic Republic of Congo
3. Nigeria
4. Senegal
5. Egypt
6. Morocco
7. Ethiopia
8. Kenya
9. Angola
10. Malawi

B. Asia-Pacific (8 seats)

1. Sri Lanka
2. Republic of Korea
3. China
4. Japan
5. India
6. Iran
7. Indonesia
8. Pakistan

C. Eastern Europe (4 seats)

1. Poland
2. Russian Federation
3. Serbia
4. Romania

D. Latin America and the Caribbean (6 seats)

1. Argentina
2. Brazil
3. Chile
4. Costa Rica
5. Mexico
6. Uruguay

E. Western Europe and Others (8 seats)

1. Canada
2. France
3. Sweden
4. Turkey
5. United States of America
6. Germany
7. Spain
8. Portugal

We’re rebuilding! If you can’t find what you’re looking for, please check the old website.